Blog

links for 2010-01-11   01.11.10

Deitch @ MoCA (Edward_ Winkleman)
"In a world in which being an alleged drug abuser who ran every company your family managed to give you into the ground doesn't automatically disqualify you from becoming President of the United States and being a member of the Nazi Youth organization doesn't automatically disqualify you from becoming the Pope, why does being a small business owner who puts his money where his vision is in supporting artists automatically disqualify you from becoming a museum director?"


MOCA contender may be an unorthodox choice (Los Angeles Times)
"L.A.s Museum of Contemporary Art is poised to name its new director Monday morning, and one of the names circulating through the art world is Jeffrey Deitch, a high-flying New York art dealer who, if chosen, would be a radical break from the usual museum-world pattern."

Author: Christopher Lynn, Executive Director
Category: Links

links for 2010-01-10   01.10.10

Warhol Foundation gives $120,000 to St. Paul arts organization (StarTribune.com)
Congratualtions to our friends at Forecast Public Art for receiving $120,000 from the Warhol Foundation to create a web version of Public Art Review! Also, another big thanks to the Warhol Foundation for their great work!

Author: Christopher Lynn, Executive Director
Category: Links

Munnneeeee!   01.07.10

It's me again, SPACES' money-grubbing development manager. It seems like everyone I talk to these days has cash on the brain. Some are resolving to save more in 2010, and others are stressed about paying off holiday credit card bills. I flip on the radio after a long day of begging for funds, and all of the stories obsess over the economy in general.

The same holds true here in the gallery. We're topical. Get a load of this:

One of our current exhibitions, Art Work: A National Conversation About Art, Labor, and Economics, reflects on artists who work amidst depressed economies and how that impacts artistic process, compensation and artistic property. Fortunately for SPACES, Art Work was funded by Lauren Rich Fine & Gary Giller and the John P. Murphy Foundation.

Our next exhibition, " ... in a most dangerous manner", takes its title from a passage in Karl Marx's Das Kapital:

Talk about centralisation! The credit system, which has its focus in the so-called national banks and the big money-lenders and usurers surrounding them, constitutes enormous centralisation, and gives to this class of parasites the fabulous power, not only to periodically despoil industrial capitalists, but also to interfere in actual production in a most dangerous manner - and this gang knows nothing about production and has nothing to do with it. [emphasis mine]

Need I mention that this exhibition includes work that - in one way or another - touches on capitalism and/or economic collapse?

SPACES brings Northeast Ohio artists a chance to build on their creative capital through SPACELab, a forum for experimentation that comes with a small $tipend (emphasis on small). We're accepting applications now through March 31!

And while all of the lovely programming folks at SPACES make their hard-earned dollars organizing art, I get mine filling out hundreds and hundreds of questions for the Ohio Cultural Data Project. It's due January 15, and funders claim that it will streamline the funding process for participants, as well as provide valuable data for demonstrating the economic impact of the arts in Ohio.

And finalllly ... I can't forget to mention the talented artists in Cuyahoga County who are receiving Creative Workforce Fellowships. These awards were announced last month by the Community Partnership for Arts and Culture here in Cleveland. Talk about a cash infusion! Congratulations!

Wishing all of you a prosperous 2010!

~ posted by Sarah McGreer Hoyt, Development Manager

Author: Christopher Lynn, Executive Director
Category: General

links for 2010-01-06   01.06.10

Pr*tty Sh*tty: An Open Letter to James Cameron From Papyrus
"Goodness knows Ive worked hard the past 26 years to make a name for myself. And its felt great coming to the aid of New Age spa owners, suburban party planners, and young couples looking to save money by making their own wedding invitations. But only now, by appearing in your movie, have I been given mainstream, high-level recognition as a serious typeface. And for that, I thank you."


Kenneth Noland, Color Field Artist, Is Dead at 85 (NYTimes.com)
"Kenneth Noland, who painted some of the great emblems of the postwar American abstract style called Color Field painting, died Tuesday at his home in Port Clyde, Me. The cause was cancer, said his wife, Paige Rense, editor in chief of Architectural Digest. He was 85."
(tags: Kenneth.Noland Color.Field obituary painter artist)

Author: Christopher Lynn, Executive Director
Category: Links

#DailyArtDose Round-Up   01.04.10

Closing out 2009: No worries! We have loads of artists, sites, and projects coming to you in 2010. We continue to be the cure for your daily art needs.

Past SPACELab artist Jean Alexander Frater: alexanderfrater.com
Andrea Loefke: andrealoefke.com
Learning to Love You More: learningtoloveyoumore.com
You Are Beautiful: you-are-beautiful.com
Susan Hamburger: susanhamburger.net
Kyung Woo Han: kyungwoohan.com
Posterchild's marriage proposal: urbanprankster.com/tag/marriage-proposal
20x200 (Great gift idea while supporting emerging artists): 20x200.com
SPACES alum Tara Giannini: taragiannini.com
The First/Last Newspaper: performa-arts.org; sample it here: dextersinister.org
Claire Pentecost: clairepentecost.org
Judy Pfaff: judypfaff.org
Sarah Ross' Art + Research: insecurespaces.net
Nicole Garneau: nicolegarneau.com
D'Lo: myspace.com/dlocokid
Cody Critcheloe=SSION: ssion.com; Art in America: artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/cody-critcheloe
Lee Walton: leewalton.com
SPACELab '97 Nora Sturges: pages.towson.edu/nsturges
Tristan Perch: tristanperich.com
Former SPACELab artist Reed Anderson: reedanderson.info

For your heart-healthy #DailyArtDose, follow us on Twitter and become our fan on Facebook.



Author: Christopher Lynn, Executive Director
Category: #DailyArtDose

8x8x8
View Calendar

28 8x8x8

07 (p)SPACE presents Peg and...